Archive | December, 2013 are invited to a Community Listening Celebration!

You are invited to a Community Listening Celebration!


On December 21st, CJMP will have completed our documentary as part of the Resonating Reconciliation Program through the National Community Radio Association.

The two Producers, Devin Pielle and Shelby George of Tla’Amin worked with CJMP volunteers Courtney Harrop, Emma Belle, Claudia Medina and Zoë Ludski to create “We Are Still Here”

This documentary has been produced as part of the Resonating Reconciliation project, which “engages community radio to help reconcile all Canadians with the history of Indian Residential Schools, to help build grassroots skills among community-based broadcasters in respectful reporting on the ongoing legacy of Indian Residential Schools, and provide a lasting record of survivors’ experiences.” 

We would like to invite you to the share in the presentation of this radio documentary, with our community for the first time. We will celebrate the work by listening to a selection from the documentary, discussing it together, sharing music and then participating in a cedar brushing. Following the ceremony, a pot luck will take place, please bring a small dish if you are able and your drum if you have one!

For event details visit our Facebook event page

For more information about Resonating Reconciliation, please visit the National Campus and Community Association website:

To learn about the Truth and Reconciliation process, visit

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission

To listen to some of the documentaries that have been produced by other radio stations you can go here:

A video of the Tla’Amin Nation Reconciliation Walk:


Congratulations CJMP on your new Board of Directors!

The Powelll River Community Radio Society is pleased to announce the newly elected Board of Directors for 2013-2014!

We welcome back Ari DubLion and Kate Wetherell for their second year on the Board. Kate will continue in her role of Treasurer while Ari remains ‘at large’. Hardworking volunteers Jason Leane and Don Mitchinson will work even harder as they step into the roles of Vice President and Secretary. Production Manager Emma Bell (aka Rock Thrustcrotch, aka Stacy) roams at large with our new member Chief James Delorme. č̓ɛč̓ɛhaθɛč Chief Delorme! Stepping into the role of president, CJMP welcomes Dave Brindle! Dave has a wealth of professional broadcast experience including news journalism, producing and hosting and is an innovator in transmedia.

Stay tuned for more information from and about the Board as they get settled and learn the ropes. Drop by the station and visit Courtney and see what’s happening. We’re open Monday, Wednesday and Fridays from 9AM till 2PM.

Thanks and congratulations to all our members!


President – David Brindle
Vice President – Jason Leane
Secretary – Don Mitchinson
Treasurer – Kate Wetherell
At Large – Emma Belle, James Delorme, Ari Neuman


CJMP awarded grant to develop Live Remote Broadcasts

PR Community Radio Society is excited to announce ReBOP, the Remote Broadcast Outreach Program , made possible by a grant $7,253 from the National Community Radio Association.

Don Mitchinson and Zoe Ludski are the leads on this project which aims to increase CJMP’s capacity to remote-broadcast from around the community, and include voices that are not usually heard.

This fall, CJMP programmers will be able to take their shows to the streets, parks, and community places. Darleen Sundin plans to re-launch “Hidden Treasures” from her home; its a popular call-in buy and sell show that she had to give up when she could not access the new station location.

To find out more contact Don Mitchinson at: don dot mitchinson at gmail dot com

Next1 2 16 17 18Prev